This is a bit of an experiment. I made a flower using 20 DMC crochet cotton and a 1.5mm hook. The pattern showed the leaves on either side of the stalk but to do that I think I would do a second layer of double crochets (Am: single crochet) so initially I thought I would trust the lace to make it look right
image

Then I wanted to practice linking lace stiches so I crocheted a filet frame
image

Then dithered and finally decided to complete all 4 sides
image

First I used the same hook to fiddle with various methods to link the flower to frame
image

To the left of the picture I used the filet as a guide to make a zig zag back and forth, to the right I used 5 chain loops secured with double (Am: single) crochets. As you can see that looked a mess in the bottom corner where I spiraled inwards, a little better in the top corner where it was in rows.
Then the whole lot was unpicked and I used a 1mm hook to put the flower in place using a zig zag
image

Still not happy with the top and the stem untwisted so both leaves ended up on the same side, in future, I’ll crochet the frame at the same time as zig zagging

