This poncho is extremely personalised, there is a red rose of Lancashire (the county flower of my home), a hibiscus (the national flower of my birth country), a shamrock (the national flower of my mum’s birth country), a butterfly (my daughter’s favorite insect) and Irish roses (which particularly remind me of the wonderful lady who taught me to crochet ).

image

image

image

image

image

Other flowers are found in my garden (crysanthemums, aquilegia, lillies). None of the flowers are repeats and there are 4 to 8 petalled varieties. My main challenge was making enough of a variety of leaves and these are based mainly on inspirations from fabulous Russian ladies with beautiful nail polish who have shared their skills and patterns on the internet.

image

image

image

It’s lovely and cosy warm and I got loads of compliments at my sister’s wedding 🙂

My daughter would like one for herself now, pink and pink and I’m going to be a little bit more repetitive regarding the flowers and leaves.I’ll keep the chain of flowers at the bottom and adjust the shape so that there is a point at the front and back (mine only had a point hanging down in the front, due to the use of the symmetrical trapezium discussed in earlier blogs)

