As I posted earlier, I’ve been making an Irish Crochet poncho for my 4 year old daughter and I made a pansy last week.

wpid-wp-1424039649632.jpg

Since then, I’ve spent some time in the garden dead-heading my real life pansies and violas. As I moved from pot to pot,

<<whisper>> <<I’m a bit potty about violas>>

I’ve come to the realisation that the pansy I made could be better, biologically and also more in keeping with the Irish rose, the other main flower in the poncho.

So I tried another pattern from freevintagecrochet.com and made this:

Image30

but it still didn’t feel or look pansy enough for me.

So I stared at pictures of violas for a long time and made this little character:

wpid-dsc_0003.jpg

It is small but it has the fused lower petal and the 2 small petals in front of the 2 overlapping large petals and it is more in keeping with the tiny viola in comparison with the large blousy pansies that the other flowers are.

So, feeling very pleased with myself, I Skyped my daughter today (at present I work away from home during the week) and asked her if she liked this little flower. She replied,

“Yes, it’s a nice daffodil.”

If anyone would like to make a viola/daffodil, here’s the pattern:

pansy

